Playing with punctuation and thoughts on graduation.

A few months ago I graduated from my English Literature course at the University of Westminster with First Class Honours. Apparently this fact eluded many people because I failed to post anything more than a photograph. (Sadly my request to be granted a doctorate for having completed six years of study was turned down, so I’ll have to make do with a BA).

graduation photo

To be honest, it was a mixed day. In many ways it was very joyful. It was wonderful to celebrate with family, lecturers, and course mates, to recognise the achievement each of us had made, and to express gratitude for all those who had helped us along the way. (I’d also never been inside The Royal Festival Hall proper before and it is stunning). However, for all those reasons mum’s absence was very prominent and the underlying feelings of grief lent an odd, uncomfortable, and painful sense to the occasion which increased as the day went on. Afterwards, I went home and scribbled down a poem about it, which is below. It’s not long and I don’t know if it’s any good. I also don’t have much to say about the writing process or techniques – other than that for me the punctuation is as important in conveying the meaning as the words. Nevertheless, I hope it brings some kind of enjoyment or edification to someone and helps explain why it took a long time to get round to properly mentioning my graduation elsewhere.

 

Graduation, Gratitude, and Grief

I missed mum

Today at graduation.

I was so grateful for them all –

Dad, sisters, Desmonds present –

And mum,

Not present.

3 thoughts on “Playing with punctuation and thoughts on graduation.

  1. Victor Hugo wrote: “Music expresses that which cannot put into words and that which cannot remain silent”.
    However, I think that poets can transform silence and quiet in their own poetry too.
    Poetry is something that belongs to us, just like memories, feelings or thoughts.
    An Italian poet, Alda Merini, said that most beautiful poems are written on stones, with bleeding knees. I think she was right.
    Yours is as lovely as pure.
    Thank you for sharing it with us, Tom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment